General Education

Mission Statement

The mission of the General Education Department is to support all certificate and collegiate degree programs by providing comprehensive course offerings to meet the graduation requirements of the college. Specifically,General Education courses include the following content areas: humanities, English, mathematics, communications, computer literacy, and academic skill development content. Further, two degree programs are housed within the General Education Department: The Bachelor of Professional Studies and the Associate in General Studies.

Contact Information

Administrative Staff
Sharon Koch Department Chair 860.913.2144 SKoch@goodwin.edu
Beverly Carter Senior Administrative Assistant 860.913.2182 BCarter@goodwin.edu
Christine Thurston Administrative Assistant 860.913.2132 CThurston@goodwin.edu
Directors / Program Directors
Amy Beauchemin GAP Coordinator 860.913.2127 ABeauchemin@goodwin.edu
Annjanette Bennar Director, Intellectual Discovery Awareness & Computer Literacy 860.913.2310 ABennar@goodwin.edu
Katherine Kalagher Director, English 860.727.6923 KKalagher@goodwin.edu
Jason Shea Director, Math 860.913.2086 JShea@goodwin.edu
Allan Ballinger Director, Humanities/Communication 860.913.2055 ABallinger@goodwin.edu
Katherine Kalagher Program Director, Professional/General Studies 860.727.6923 KKalagher@goodwin.edu